so im designing a new guitar for myself, i used to work as a luthier so i will be able to do this entirely from scratch.. im going with a hardtail bridge and as it stands now a modified telecaster body.. modified in that its a symmetrical double-cutaway with thinned horns for better fingerboard access near the body and i may even route out the top half of the body to make a slim-lime semi-hollow body electric and though the 3D model im sketching out in autodesk inventory is currently set up for a standard fender neck pocket the end result may end up being neck-thru or a set neck

im also considering a baritone scale tuned a step down or possibly even a 5-string or 5-course 10 string cittern-mandocello.. but that route would require me to wind my own pickups for it which i can do

i could post renderings of it as i work on the design if anyones interested

anyway, any thoughts?
here is a rendering of the double-cutaway telecaster body, ive also designed a pickguard (thats a work in progress) and a typical telecaster two knob control plate.. i may adjust this control plate and eliminate the selector switch for a couple more knobs for 2 volume, 2 tone and just use push/pull to turn off the individual pickups, i havent decided exactly how i will wire it.. but heres what i have so far.. also, im aware the pickups are upside down.. i just threw them in for the render

Last edited by jason41987 at Apr 24, 2017,
anyone use those piezo saddle pickups called graphtech ghost? i really like the sound they produce for clean tones
Will it have guitar modelling (+string tune) antares powered or variax system? That way the front part will be hollow to accommodate the circuit board..
I have Washburn guitars 'Maverick Series' and bass 'Bantam Series' and a few pedals and amps, but man I wish to have more patience and drive practicing my playing, if it's equal to the modding itch, then I'm golden.