https://www.amazon.com/Line-6-POD-Studio-UX2/dp/B001EKECC2
^THIS is the product I've been looking at for a good while now (Line 6 POD Studio UX2)

PREFACE:
I'm just getting into recording. So new that I have an SM-57 with no practical way to record. Albeit I've been at college. However, this summer I am for sure locking down my "studio" and getting serious (amateur serious that is). 

OBJECTIVE:
What I want is to record guitar and vocals easily into my computer. My favorite genre is rock/punk etc. (basically everything that isn't acoustic) and I want a lot of tones and FX my amp can't provide. I'm for an all-in-one product. So the criteria for the product is: 
  1. Pre-amp w/ both 1/4" & XLR inputs
  2. Digital FX 
  3. DAW (recording software which honestly I can probably find freeware but it would be nice to have a more premium)

POD UX-2:
I stumbled upon the Line 6 POD Studio UX-2 which seems to be everything I want in one...it has digital effects, is meant to record to computer, is basically a pre-amp, and comes with its own recording software for ~$200

QUESTION:
However, this is 10 year old technology and I'm SURE something is on the market just like it or better. So I'm wondering what are some good alternatives to this product/what I'm looking for? You know, something that's all in-one, all inclusive; digital effects/pre-mixer/studio perfect for <$200

Thank you much in advance  

*Note: I'm aware I could get much better quality by buying various pedals, cabinets, etc. as many people suggested earlier but obviously I'm on a budget which is why I'm settling/asking for digital FX to be included. I have a Roland CUBE-40GX 40W amp (not that it should matter but just saying it's no Marshall)
*Note: Feel free to educate me on anything, like I said; I have no clue what I'm doing lol
*This was posted before but I've added more detail
Last edited by confuseddude at Apr 25, 2017,
That would work but I think there are better options.