Hi, I am a rock player. In december I started playing very fast stuff in the electric guitar that demanded a lot of use of the left hand pinky finger. I wasn´t used to playing this fast. So one day I practiced a very fast exercise for 5 hours and my pinky started hurting a lot. I stopped playing for 2 weeks and the pain went away. I went to the doctor and said that my tendon was irritated from playing. From december to march my finger hurt ocassionally with ocassional little pain. One day I played for ten hours without rest and my finger started to hurt a lot more so I went to the doctor again and told me to take it easy, that the collateral ligaments of my pinky finger were irritated. I rested for about a week after this and then started playing again fast stuff for 45 minutes daily and my finger started to hurt again. I am starting to take glucosamine. Maybe I need some more rest?. Anyone had a similiar injury?, In how much time did it went away?
What's happening now is mostly likely not the result of an injury, at least not yet.  It's probably due to improper technique.  However, that can cause a serious injury like a RSI if it's not fixed.  One of many things could be causing it.  Excess tension, bad hand position, the angle of the guitar, etc.  If you could send a picture or video, we'd hopefully be able to identify the problem and tell you how to solve it.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.