Hi Guys, new to the forum here. I'm thinking maybe I can get some advice on choosing a new guitar.

I've been playing off and on for about 35 years now. I currently play a G&L guitar from the 1980's and I love it. It's really the only guitar I've played since I was a kid. It's getting kind of beat and now that I'm older and can afford it, I'm thinking new guitar.

My guitar teacher in the 80's had an Ibanez Jem and since then I have always wanted an Ibanez guitar but never played one.

The last few days I sampled some at local stores (RG Series) and I'm not totally sure I'm sold. I'm thinking of going out later this week and sampling some strats which should be similar to what I currently have.

I plan to play a lot of classic rock (Stones, Who, etc.) , 80's rock (Van Halen, Motley Crue, etc.), and maybe even a little bit of modern day metal (Papa Roach, Disturbed, etc.) But more of the 80's and classic stuff.

What types of guitars would you suggest for this type of music??

I'm thinking I may really like the Strats when I sample them, but they don't really have that Floyd Rose style bridge that I'm hoping for.

Thanks for any advice.
INB4 trashedlostfdup recommends Prestige!

Seriously Ibanez Prestige series are great guitars and depending on your location you may be able to find one used for between $600-$800 these will satisfy your need for a locking tremolo system and likely have pickups to suit your style these guitars are very high quality I have been chasing them for a few years now but they continue to elude me . If you desire a locking tremolo and like the strat shape there are tons of superstrats available.