Hi there,
a friend of mine is a very good jazz/blues player but he doesn't know anything about gear. So I ask the advice of you wise people. He needs a small valve amp (as small and inexpensive as possible) to play in very small clubs and reharsal spaces, 95% of the time he plays clean and fingerstyle. I'm not a big expert but I guess he needs at least a 15w to have enough headroom for the cleans...

Any advice? Thanks a lot
Ekam Sat
2012 Danelectro '56 Pro | 2014 Fender Stratocaster FSR American Standard Channel Bound Sonic Blue | 2015 Breedlove Discovery Concert CE Sunburst | 2016 PRS SE Custom 24 | 2017 Squier Jaguar Vintage Modified Bass | Blackstar HT-5R
i have several good amps in mind- including solid options- but we need to know:

1) What kind of budget?
2) New or used?
3) combo or head & cab?
4) location (because that can affect price & availability)
5) in person purchase only, or is online shopping possible?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
1) under 400$/€ is preferred
2) used is OK
3) combo is better
4) Italy
5) mmh in person is better

I eyed a Bugera Infinium V22 but I never tried one (and neither did my friend)...
Ekam Sat
2012 Danelectro '56 Pro | 2014 Fender Stratocaster FSR American Standard Channel Bound Sonic Blue | 2015 Breedlove Discovery Concert CE Sunburst | 2016 PRS SE Custom 24 | 2017 Squier Jaguar Vintage Modified Bass | Blackstar HT-5R
Last edited by davidrf at May 9, 2017,
I have the Laney Cub10, this is a link to the bigger brother:- https://www.thomann.de/gb/laney_cub12r.htm
That is on Thomann's website. They are German, but ship europe wide for freewith orders over €199. These are pretty good, in my opinion, other people will give you another view which may help.
Or there is this, also from Thomann, just over €400 :- https://www.thomann.de/gb/fender_super_champ_x2.htm