I'm a self taught guitarist of about 4 years and is wondering if anyone can give me some tips on improving on solos. I am able to play quite well to a slower backing track but when I play a track with a higher tempo I'm not sure how to progress into a solo. Any tips will be greatly appreciated
33cerberus03 
What is your methodology for improvising now?
How do you decide what to play?
What kind of knowledge is involved?
What kind of music?
Quote by reverb66
I'm pretty sure the Bible requires that you play through a tube amp in Texas.
It's important to approach playing the guitar with the right mindset. It's a conduit for your ideas, not a machine where you put x in one end to get y out the other.

So, if you want to play fast music first thing you need is some fast music in your head - you need to be able to "think" in terms of faster music. You need to know what you're trying to achieve before you move your fingers.

If you are doing then great, that's all you need...now pick up your guitar and figure out how to play what you've thought up.

If not then this isn't an issue with your guitar playing at all but purely a creative one. You can't play if you don't actually know what it is you want to play, you need to ask yourself what sounds to you want to hear coming out of your guitar.

If your struggling then you maybe need to listen to some of your favourite solos for inspiration. Study then, learn them and try and pin down why the faster bits are there, how they work musically, how they contrast with any slower bits. If you can find a YouTube video of them talking about it even better, as long as they're giving some musical insight as opposed to just telling you where to put your fingers.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
A couple of tips if your serious about improving: