I have a Fender Strat Pro HSS with stock pickups, there was a local posting of brand new SD Hot rails and JB Jr humbuckers (set of 3) for only $140. Should I upgrade my pickups? For those who have had these pups, were you still able to get a "strat" tone? I'll use this guitar to play blues, country, pop, hardrock/somewhat metal tone. Thanks for all the advice.
SD Hotrails are singlecoil-sized humbuckers. They may clean up nicely, but won't sound like singlecoils.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by dannyalcatraz
SD Hotrails are singlecoil-sized humbuckers. They may clean up nicely, but won't sound like singlecoils.

that being said, they actually split reasonably well. but i agree, if you know you want single coil tones, there are better options.

if it's already HSS i'd just get the regular JB for the bridge position.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?
tabooyd

We should ask: what is it you seek to do with a pickup swap? Change tones? Improve what you have?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Quote by tabooyd