Page 1 of 3
I wanted to see how the intonation held up but he didn't really focus on that. As a bassist I like to boil my strings so that I can use them for a longer amount of time but after a year or two you lose a lot of accuracy in pitch. I imagine it's the same for guitar strings.
Quote by Hal-Sephira

We all have the rights to be mad

So does you
Quote by Victory2134
I wanted to see how the intonation held up but he didn't really focus on that. As a bassist I like to boil my strings so that I can use them for a longer amount of time but after a year or two you lose a lot of accuracy in pitch. I imagine it's the same for guitar strings.

I feel maybe these were put on the guitar, not played and stuck away for 7 years.
In which case they have had some tarnish on them but hadn't really been used, so no oils or salts from sweat.
Quote by Victory2134
As a bassist I like to boil my strings so that I can use them for a longer amount of time

Wait... so you boil them when they are brand new, or take them off and boil after played for a while? What does boiling do clean them?
Quote by 33db
I feel maybe these were put on the guitar, not played and stuck away for 7 years.
In which case they have had some tarnish on them but hadn't really been used, so no oils or salts from sweat.

My thoughts exactly I doubt thet he has played that guitar regualary for 7 years, he probably should have touched on that.
"A well-wound coil is a well-wound coil regardless if it's wound with professional equipment, or if somebody's great-grandmother winds it to an old French recipe with Napoleon's modified coffee grinder and chops off the wire after a mile with an antique guillotine!"
- Bill Lawrence

Come and be with me
Live my twisted dream
Pro devoted pledge
Time for primal concrete sledge

Boiling maybe removes the dirt/grime/fingergrease?