Hi everyone

I am looking for music theory books that can really accelerate my knowledge of music theory and increase my ability to solo better, become a better rhythm guitarist and to get a greater understanding of the guitar. I have been playing the guitar for many years but I have not really excelled very much, I am playing the same old riffs and stuck learning box shapes for scales and not really going anywhere.

I am in the process of learning all the notes of the neck, and I think I should study intervals next, if anyone has suggestions for books that really helped them and enlightened them to become a better guitar player, please let me know. I like to play stuff from the 80's like shred stuff, I like metal, rock n roll, and blues..ect.. any suggestions would be highly appreciated it, I really want to start making my own music so even books on how to write your own songs would be helpful too or any advice would be great.

Any tips for help with coming up with original licks and rhythms would be appreciated also, I just can't seem to really make my own music very well. Thank you
There are a lot of reasons to study theory but this:
Quote by frenetixx71
 increase my ability to solo better, become a better rhythm guitarist and to get a greater understanding of the guitar. 

Might not be one. Greater understanding of the guitar? Sure, you can achieve that with theory if you know how to implement it. But lead and rhythm guitar on the other hand are not areas you can necessarily improve with books on theory. You can find some new ideas to solo with and stuff but the strong point of theory is analysis and communication. Theory helps you to understand what happens in a composition and it helps you communicate your ideas to other people. But theory on it's own does not make you a better guitar player.