So i have been playing guitar for around 6 months now... i can play things like scales and modes pretty easily and can create melodies and stuff....
The one problem i have is building speed.. i get confused playing to a metronome... dont really understand it... i can play to songs... i have been trying to learn master of puppets for a few weeks now and i have been stuck at 140 bpm... i can attempt at the actual speed but my picking hand goes awry....
I find my hand slips on my guitar and i cant find a good position for my guitar... every position I keep it is usually uncomfortable for me...
I tried playing with my friends guitar every now and then and i find his easy but cant say for sure since i dont get it for extended periods of time...
So i cant decide if the problem is my technique or the guitar...
Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks XD
How are you holding the guitar and how do you sit , also what kind of guitar you and your friend have ?

I've been playing for around 6 months also and posture is something that kinda worries me too ... from what i seen online i believe the proper posture is the classical position which is to hold the guitar between your legs and to use a tabouret or a small item to elevate one of your leg however i tried it and i just find it weird and uncomfortable to have the neck of the guitar so far away from me i always played with my legs crossed by holding the guitar over my right thigh from the first day i started playing without even thinking about it i'm not sure if that's bad but that's what felt the more natural to me.
I have a fender bullet strat... used one.. i used to sit with the guitar between my legs and the neck raised but then i switched to the "regular" way most electric guitarists keep it..
My friend owns a yamaha pacifica