I'm a rookie. I changed my strings today and all of them are tune in standard e. I even checked the tunings at the 12th fret and everything checked out good. (The strings are .09s.)

However, my 1st string/high e string is loose and not really playable. I mean it's playable, but it sounds bad. Did I mess something up by taking off all the strings at the same time? Did I ruin something when I broke the string yesterday from a bend? Do I need a new neck/guitar? What gives?

Edit: From the 12th fret, I can lift the high e string 2 centimeters/almost 1 inch.
Last edited by Superdoggy at May 16, 2017,
Have you sufficiently stretched all the strings in?

You need to be more descriptive in how you mean by it sounding 'bad'.
Roses are red
Violets are blue
Omae wa mou
Shindeiru

Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Have you sufficiently stretched all the strings in?

You need to be more descriptive in how you mean by it sounding 'bad'.

I never stretched them and now I'm afraid to do that. Wouldn't that make it more loose?

It sounds bad- like the notes I play on that string sound warped or like they are drowning in a pool. Almost sounds like I'm doing a curl/mini bend on every note that I fret on that string. When I actually do bend it, it sounds like it's about to die out. And if I play that string without fretting, it sounds dry.
Last edited by Superdoggy at May 15, 2017,
Do you have a tuner that will tell you what octave your high E has been tuned to? 
It's not unusual to find someone has actually tuned the string an octave low under these circumstances. 
Quote by dspellman
Do you have a tuner that will tell you what octave your high E has been tuned to? 
It's not unusual to find someone has actually tuned the string an octave low under these circumstances.