Hi, I am a beginner guitarist [been playing for 6 months, can play and transition between open chords easily, can play barre chords of E-shape, Em-shape, Am minor shape (but not yet A shape barre chords) can transition between barre chords at a moderate pace although sometimes when transitioning to an Em-shape, my G string doesn't ring, can play rhythm guitar decently, can mute strings using fretting hand]. Just to also add I usually play acoustic guitar and I find that barre chords on the electric guitar are much easier to play.

I want to attempt Jimi Hendrix All Along the Watchtower although I know that that's a relatively hard solo to play but I do think the rhythmic sections are good practice for switching through barre chords especially since they are all down strokes and there are no A shaped barre chords that needs to be played..

What do you guys think? Bad idea or good idea? I do really think I can try to play this beautiful song ....
If not this song, what other recommendations do you guys have?

Thanks!
Thread was moved to forum: Guitar Techniques
Roses are red
Violets are blue
Omae wa mou
Shindeiru

Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
ejazz.gaznavi Just stick to electric guitar for now and make sure you sit correctly (or preferably stand) and make sure your posture etc are in good place. Split the song into small manageable chunks and learn them one by one - once you get the idea of one chunk learn next and so on. This also applies to solo as well.

If the barre chords are still an issue I would suggest finding a good youtube video to double check your technique on that. There are literally thousands of them but simple google search should give you couple of ideas. Learning them just needs lot of repetition but make sure you don't hurt your wrist or anything else by applying too much force, or pressing the fret from wrong place etc.