Page 1 of 2
I'm trying to find a good amp that is ideal for Doom metal. Don't really want to have to get an amp and use the clean channel with a fuzz pedal but if that's the only way then which amp that would have a good clean channel and a good fuzz pedal? I'm trying to go for like a High on Fire and Sleep type of tone. My budget is anything under $1000 but ideally anything under $700. But That may not be too possible, but if so I'd love a suggestion. I've looked at the Laney AOR but most of them have been in the $800 range. Would also perfer it to be a head instead of a combo amp. Also needs to be loud enough to play with a drummer and a bassist. Looking foward to seeing what you guys think! 
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
The Sovtek/ElectroHarmonix MIG is a Doom favorite.

Orange TH30, or really any high gain Orange.

A Mesa Dual Rectifier is a common one I see for doom guys.

Old Peaveys, the Triumph, VTM, Ultra, etc.

Marshalls, like the 800, or an old cranked Plexi.

Really there are so many amps that are capable, what makes the difference is what pedals you pair it with. Also, bass guitar can provide a lot of the oomph for Doom (Sleep is a good example).
I'm just a kickin' and a gougin' in the mud and the blood and the beer.
Just gonna throw out the Orange cr120h. Just because the gain channel gets fuzzy when dimed, the clean takes fuzzes well, and it's on the darker side tone wise. Plus within budget with extra to spare for a cab.

Also if Good with a soldering iron, a dam meathead clone is an easy build and great fuzz. I was gonna order the parts for one, but have to buy shoes instead
Last edited by Liaztraht at May 20, 2017,