So currently I run a JCM 2000 DSL100 and a 4x12 carvin cab and a power attinuator...little did i realize how over powering it was in small gigs...currently the shows i play are too small and the amp has to be set on 2 without the tinny and up to 6 with the tinny. Reguardless, it's huge and heavy for just little power

Should i buy a small amp (like the orange micro dark) just for the ability to use it in these small gigs? I love my JCM but it's about half the entire weight of my setup. 

(if you have any amp suggesions it HAS TO have an FX loop because the 2 pedals i use are effects loop only!!)
I'm thinking gurg06 is on the right track In terms of volume.

In terms of further lightening your load for small-venue gigs, a different head might also be in order.  The Quilter Mach 2 or the Carvin V3M might be what you need.

Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Smaller cab and less efficient speakers combined with your attenuator might be a good option, especially if your amp does give you the sound you want. Going to a smaller wattage isn't bad but take the amount of headroom into account. You don't want to end up with a loud enough amp that has no cleans

Anyway, what kind of sound are you looking for?
Originally Posted by evening_crow
Quoting yourself is cool.

WARNING: I kill threads.
If you pull out the DSLs two outer power tubes out of the 4 don't you get 50 watts? It used to be a trick for some Marshalls. Check manual before you do that as you can fry the transformer.

Maybe look at smaller amps, I have a Mesa Mini Rec and a 1x12 just for those gigs. Used to rock an Orange Tiny Terror for smaller gigs as well but it is single channel amp, great sounding, but I needed more versatility.
I find small amps temd to sound small and boxy (EL-84s and small OTs).