Hey guys, so I've been rocking the good ole spider 4 for about 6 years now. Was great for a beginner amp but I'm in need of a change. Budget is around 3 grand for a head and cab, looking for something that can get some great high gain while still having great cleans so I've been looking at the jvm205h, the mesa mini rectifier or the evh 5150 iii. Can't make up my mind for the life of me so any suggestions would be great!

Cheers ๐Ÿ™‚
Ippon it'll mostly be a bedroom amp with the intent of still being able to play at a small live setting, would getting a 100+ watt amp be an overkill for that? Plus from what I've heard you won't really get the full extent of the tone the amp has to deliver unless it's cranked, might be wrong though my knowledge of amps is limited haha.
What kind of music? And sometimes the 100w heads will sound better at low volumes compared to lower wattage ones.
Fleet of MiJ Ibanez
Couple of Balls
Peavey & EVH Wolfgangs
Eclipse
Fender HM Strat
Kemper KPA
5150 III 50w & cabs
DarthV I like to play mostly metal/ hard rock stuff from iron maiden to machine head to lamb of god. Also love some good blues soloing as well.
Out of those I'd probably buy the 50 watt EVH 5150 III -- only because I think the 50 watt version sounds the best out of all of that series. And 50 watts can pack a wallop no problem. I'd probably go with the matching 2x12 cab as well --or even a Mesa 2x12 cab. But I've heard the EVH doesn't sound as good with Vintage 30s so I don't know if you'd be any better off with a Mesa. With all of that, you're still way under budget. That'll give you room for a lot of nice pedals such as ODs, EQ pedal, Reverb/Delay etc. Probably STILL under budget after that.

There are certainly higher end options as well. But if you're coming directly off a Line 6 Spider a.)you will likely be dumbfounded by the tone you get out of the 5153; b.) you've suffered with bad tone for so long you likely don't yet know what your ideal tone actually is.