Hi there!

I am an aspiring musician and guitarist about to embark on my journey to build a personal home studio. I have been playing guitar for about 13 years now but I am an amateur when it comes to mixing and recording. I did some research and I need some advice. I would really appreciate if you guys could chime in.

1. Going to buy the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen audio interface. What is the best way to mic up a singer-songwriter playing an acoustic/classical guitar? The Scarlett 2i2 has 2 mic preamps, so I could buy two microphone to mic my guitar and the vocals on separate tracks. Or I can just use a single mic and place it about 3-4 feet away from me while I sing and play an acoustic guitar. Which one is better in your opinion? I have a classical guitar, but I wanted to buy a new acoustic guitar. What are some good acoustic guitars at the $200 price point? In terms of sound, let's say, I want it to roughly emulate Jack Johnson's guitar.

2. I also want to play thrash/groove metal (think Lamb of God, Slayer, Pantera sound) and I own an Ibanez SA260FM (http://ibanez.wikia.com/wiki/SA260FM) which has an HSS-style pickup system. When I bought the guitar, I didn't really know what of all this meant and just picked a guitar I liked. Is changing the pickups on my guitar a lost cause if I want it to have a real beefy sound? I did find a thread that talks about this here (https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1740572). People suggested some hot single-coil humbuckers there. I don't know if this is a good idea, I don't want to go halfway through and compromise on the tone. So can you suggest some guitars that fit the bill? My budget is around $300-$400.

3. What are some basic tips for tracking metal guitars? I have heard that it's important to record in mono twice and mix them together to get a richer sound. Are there are such tips and tricks for beginners out there?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

- Matharp