I've been playing guitar for about 8 years now but I'm an on and off player. I have a lot of free time now and I wanted to delicate it to playing guitar again. I've had my eyes on the Fender Telecaster Thinline Elite Series. I'm not all too knowledgeable when it comes to spec's so this is where I need help. I was looking into the limited edition Telly but it's lacking some features that the Regular Elite offers (For example the neck shape that goes from a modern C to D/ Locking tuners). Can anyone give a recommendation on whether I should go for the Limited Edition Elite or the regular Elite?

Here's the link for both guitars

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Fender/American-Elite-Telecaster-Thinline-Maple-Fingerboard-Electric-Guitar.gc#productDetail

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Fender/Limited-Edition-American-Elite-Mahogany-Telecaster-Thinline.gc#productDetail
Last edited by SlayerPawn at May 30, 2017,
Most of the "limited edition" runs are very nearly the same as the standard but with minor tweaks like the color or pickups. The mahogany one looks like the specs are just listed differently, under the neck wood it lists "compound neck shape" which to me suggests it might have that same C to D taper. Beyond that, the specs are things that an afternoon at a guitar shop would fix - take a couple of hours to figure out your preference on a few easy A/B tests:

Satin vs gloss neck finish
Pickups: neck humbucker - probably the largest difference between the models
Non-locking tuners - not a major difference, perhaps a little upgrade to have locking (the one you won't be able to test at a shop)