Hey folks I'm new here and I have a couple questions I'm hoping some of you more experienced players can help with.  I’ve been playing guitar for a few years now and been playing slide for about a year now on a cheap Les Paul knockoff and I’m hooked; I have a second guitar, a G&L ASAT for my standard playing. 

My buddy is a luthier and is getting started in the guitar building game and is willing to build me a custom guitar to help get the word out about his new business. I was already looking at picking up a used SG to make a dedicated slide guitar but for just a bit more I can get a hand made one, made to my exact specs and I was thinking it would be a purpose built for slide but as I mentioned I try to play pretty much everything on the guitar I have set up for slide now and in open E ala Derek Trucks so I still need to be able to fret it and I like to keep the action reasonably low.

For body shape I’m going with a double cut away as I want the full neck access all the way to the end of the fret board and also will probably go with a neck through so it has a smooth consistent neck feel all the way in to the body with no neck joint. I am leaning towards a mix of a SG and a Les Paul double cut style with probably some ergo shaping of the body to make it even more player friendly.

That said I have to decide on some of the detailed specs, like scale length (I’ll probably stick with the shorter scale length like Gibson or PRS but open to suggestions), fret board radius (flat vs radial: 9.5, 12, 14, 16?), neck shape, nut material (bone, tusk, brass or zero nut), Bridge, tail piece (stop tail, pull through or stop bridge) and fret size.

What are some of you more experienced slide player’s thoughts?

Also I was leaning towards the Seth Lover Pickups, thoughts on those? I really want that Fat, Warm PAF sound ala The Allman Bros/ Derek Trucks type tone as that is the type of music I play the most.

Thanks! 
Welcome to the forum.