Page 1 of 2
I've been practicing on a shitty Gibson Maestro acoustic and I've been planning on buying a Squier Tele or Strat. I'm not sure which would be better for a novice like me. Not a total beginner, know quite a bit of guitar.
What artists do you like?
What budget?
Guitar/Bass:
Schecter: Damien 6/Stilletto Extreme 5, Squier: Bullet HSS*, Washburn RX10*/WG-587, Agile Septor 727
*mods

Amps/FX
Peavey: Vypyr 30/Max 112 (200W), ISP: Decimator

Quote by dannyalcatraz
Understood- I waste money on amps*, too.

justinguitar.com is the answer
bjgrifter I'm a pretty big Radiohead fan, but Metallica has grown on me since I've been practicing riffs from them. My budget wouldn't be on anything below $200. $200-$300 is about what I'm going for.
A strat with an HSS pickup configuration might be a good way to go. If you're not averse to used, a CV Squier or even an MIM/ Mexico made Fender Strat could be within reach.
Guitar/Bass:
Schecter: Damien 6/Stilletto Extreme 5, Squier: Bullet HSS*, Washburn RX10*/WG-587, Agile Septor 727
*mods

Amps/FX
Peavey: Vypyr 30/Max 112 (200W), ISP: Decimator

Quote by dannyalcatraz
Understood- I waste money on amps*, too.

justinguitar.com is the answer
I'd go some form of telecaster, based on mechanical simplicity. Why torture yourself with a cheap tremolo?

But since there was mention of learning Metallica...
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Well a HSS Stratocaster would be more versatile than the Tele but it's all up to you.  The amp provides the bulk of the tone but that humbucker in the bridge position really helps with the heavier music.