Hi everyone ...

I've been using ultimate guitar for years but never took part in the community side of the site.

I've been playing guitar for about 13 years now. However I have had quite a few long breaks, meaning I'm not as good as most would be after playing for that amount of time. I've been back at it playing regularly for about 1 or 2 years now. I think the reason I've lost interest in the paSt is because I only ever play covers at home. I'll learn songs I like and play along, which can be fun etc but I don't think it's enough.... so, with that being said I've been trying to write some riff's etc so I can start to build my own material and maybe even eventually get involved with other musicians.

The reason for this post is because I can't write anything .... seriously nothing sounds good if I try to listen to someone else's music for inspiration I end up ripping their music off because I can't think of anything else to do on the fretboard. If I try to keep my mind blank and just 'doodle' around the fretboard it always sounds the same and usually I feel like I'm moving in and it of different keys because the notes don't sound right together.

I've been under the illusion for a long time that because I don't know anything about theory I can't write my own music? Is there any truth in that? Should I have an understanding of theory to know where I can and can't go on a fretboard? Or simply put am I just not creative enough to write my own stuff? I'm sure not everyone has the ability to write music etc am I just one of those people?

Any advice or opinions welcome on the subject ..

Thanks
LR