I've been playing the electric since September 2015. I'm a girl and still in high school, so I'm not practicing as much as I should be due to education. I'm probably a bit slower at learning since I'm not a guy, and I'm sorry if this question seems ridiculous. But when I'm playing solos, I start to go fast and i pick neighboring strings, and it's very annoying. I practice slow then go fast, and that always happens. Does anybody know any techniques to quickly mute the strings I'm playing? And also, what amp would you recommend for heavy metal or metal core such as Parkway Drive, All That Remains, etc?
Gender has nothing to do with ability. It's nothing but practice to improve. You've not even been playing 2 years, you're still new to the instrument so don't be too hard on yourself. The key to playing fast is being relaxed and accurate, and those generally come with time.

Peavey 6505+ 112 combo, no other answer. It's a fantastic amp for the price and I don't know much about ATRs gear but I know for a fact Parkway Drive play through a 6505+ and i'm pretty sure they've recorded every album with that amp exclusively, but Ire and Atlas I think they also used a EVH 5150 and a Kemper Profiler. This is considerably more expensive though. They use Mesa cabinets which are also expensive. 
What I'm getting at is the Peavey 6505+ will give you everything you need for that type of music, but if you have absolutely no budget then there's your other options.
Last edited by vayne92 at Jun 2, 2017,
You're picking with movements that are too big. They way you currently pick may well feel natural but that doesn't mean it's the best way - it rarely is. You need to  invest time picking with smaller movements. This probably means slowing things down too so that you can get control of things.

You might find this helpful too: http://www.stuartbahn.com/nothing-natural-about-playing-guitar/