Hi, 
 I've been playing guitar for about three years,  one year ago I started to learn a lot of theory. My main goal is to compose songs like from the Band Opeth or the album Dragon Kiss/Scenes by Marty Friedman but I really don't know what exactly I need to studie  to compose songs which are similar to these artists . I already know something about modes, different scales, chords and chord substitutions, but I really don't know how much is missing and that makes me feel a little bit insecure about my knowlage. I also don't have anyone to ask things like this. It would be really helpful and kind if someone could help me out, maybe with a general checklist of things that I need to know theoretically so I can work on them or maybe a good book/ web site.
i think the problem is that the definition of "theory" is elusive

while scales, modes, etc. are within the realm of theoretical knowledge, they are pretty much negligible in the grand scheme of things. all you really need to know is how tension and resolution work, which, beyond understanding your intervals, really doesn't even require opening a textbook. you learn these things all totally subconsciously. you know what sounds you like from listening to music you like.

that understanding compounds when you learn that music on guitar - you're actively translating sounds from your ear to your fingers. the problem a lot of people have in making that connection is tabs. because they're so easy and accessible, it's hard to motivate yourself to sit down with a song, slow it down, and painstakingly pick one note out at a time. unfortunately, that's the fastest and most effective way to learn. you'll internalize everything going down in the piece, including the drums, bass, vocals, etc., and you'll pick up on things you've never noticed before.