i'm looking to upgrade my G1ON effects unit ( cuz it sounds like shit ) because i do a lot more jams now and i'm in a band so i need something powerful to stick into the mixer and roll, and I've got 2 options here.

first would be to just get a POD HD500X and i think it sound really good in this price range and it's kinda more practical ( correct me if i'm wrong ).

second would be to get a scarlett solo and use my laptop to get  bias effects or guitar pro but i'm afraid there will be latency issues because i'm going to use it for live playing and jamming not for recording. 

unfortunately i don't think i can push my budget any further, i'm a student and i live in the middle east ( where gear is really really expensive ) 

what do you guys think ? 
HD500X.

While I appreciate FX on a laptop, you really want to consider the overall cost (including the cost of your laptop), the complication (including the business of loading up the files and how many wires you need to have plugged in at once) and your ability to change something quickly (foot pedal) if you're playing live. You might also consider what happens if your laptop is broken while you're playing (it's a bit more delicate than the HD500X) and what OTHER information or capabilities you have on the laptop that you'd be without until it's fixed or replaced.

The HD500X has a tuner built in (yeah, I know you can bring one up on the laptop, but how long does that take compared to a quick stomp, check, and stomp again between songs?), a built-in expression pedal for volume/wah or assignment to an FX, etc., hands-free operation, uncomplicated setup (at the live venue) and more.
dspellman but won't the sound be much better using a bias fx ? 
if i can live with the wires thingy do you think i'll encounter latency issues ? 
and what if i get a foot switch ? what do you think of that ? 
and is there any other same price range opponents to the pod ? 
thanks !
Get an Atomic Amplifire
Quote by zgr0826