Hey, I just started playing guitar 10 days ago. Right now I can play open chords, some minor and #, I can smoothly shift from 1 chord to another, I can play some songs(4 to be exact), and some strumming patterns. But now the problem is that I don't know what should I do next, I know that there is a ton to learn and I know nearly nothing but I can't find from where should I start, what should be my next step? So,Can you guys guide me with your experience and tell me what should I do next(and should I get a book to read theory)?
Last edited by dixitakarsh at Jun 19, 2017,
Learn how to finger-pick - one of the best decisions I made when I started out.
I think you are making very good progress for 10 days.

I'm also a fingerpicker, but I sometimes regret (like when I'm listening to Tony Rice) not learning to flatpick as well. Still, there are not many that I consider to be good at both.

What genres or guitarists interest you? I think that should guide your learning plan. I would certainly start reading up on theory, though I can't help with suggestions because it is such a long time since I did it.
Tony DoneHey, thanks for the reply. I like watching Tommy Emmanuel(who doesn't?), and am more into slow and melodious stuff( I like rock music and electric guitars, but a acoustic guitar playing "dust in the wind" sounds better to me). And I tried finger picking but the sounds was so soft and low that only I can hear it,lol😁

Edit:- I practise for 3-4 hours a day(holidays😊).
Garthmanhey,thanks for the suggestion. I tried finger picking but can't really figure out the way to use my finger for strumming to produce a good sound(loud I mean). So do you have any suggestion from where should I start learning finger style?( maybe a book name or something else like that)
Quote by dixitakarsh
PSimonR Thanks, I saw that video but am unable to find his next lesson on finger style.

Try here

https://www.justinguitar.com/en/FO-000-Folk.php