Who here is self taught and who here has studied privately?

On a tangent, I think now more than ever it is reasonable to be completely self taught. The internet can teach you so much these days. Online videos are a great resource as well.

On the other hand you can't jam with the internet like you can a teacher. They will also point out your mistakes way faster than the internet. Backing tracks are great, but jamming with a person teaches you much more.

What do you guys think?
I can't feel cheated teaching myself and wasting my own time vs having a teacher waste my time. The only thing I got out of private lessons was learning how to play Crossroads
Quote by DisarmGoliath
Facesitting is a violation of freedom of speech, because how can you speak when you have an ass covering your face?
I'm completely selftaught on guitar excluding what I borrow from guitarists I know in person, which is a bit.  But those are far from formal.

Composing wise I did take a music college course thing for EDM, I did learn a lot in it, but I wouldn't recommend it for most people.  Immediately after completing it I got the single biggest check I've ever gotten for music and it covered the cost of schooling and then some. 
I started as self taught and then took lessons for about 2 months... I think that technically makes it so I can't say "self taught" any longer.
Totally self taught on keyboard, I also debate taking lessons again, I feel like some structure would do me good.

Edit: It's virtually impossible to be self taught, you're either learning from a song, a friend, a teacher and now a days youtube etc.
You're getting knowledge from others regardless.
Last edited by 33db at Jun 19, 2017,