Anyone have any recommendations on a bass amp for death metal? I've been using SWR for the last 6 years but obviously they don't exist anymore and I'm looking for an upgrade. My cab is a SWR Megoliath 8X10.
Bassist/Vocalist-Visceral Violation
Mesa-Boogie Big Block 750/SWR Megoliath
Warwick Corvette
I'm a proponent of looking backwards instead of forwards.  

70's and 80's Hartke and Acoustic models.  Sunn heads, Road heads, Marshalls. 
"I definitely don’t write all my music in a blackout, like I used to, although I did come up with some good stuff in a blackout."
-Matt Fucking Pike
I'm in Maryland and I'd like to keep the budget under a grand. No problem with used gear.
Warwick Corvette
Back when I was running amps, I used an Ampeg SVT-3 pro rackmount, it's a hybrid 450W. Never let me down no matter what cab I hooked it up with; always huge, piercing sound. Should be around a grand in the states, should be some floating around used for half. 
Last edited by Våd Hamster at Jul 5, 2017,
I've been looking at the SVT 4-Pro and some of the Mesa stuff.
Warwick Corvette
If you're going for a more modern/pristine sound, the Darkglass Microtubes 900 would definitely get the job done. If you want a more old-school DM sound, I'd follow Badluckpalms' advice.
Easy. GK 1001 RB-II. Mine sounds freaking beasty through my SWR Workingman's Tower 810.
"Quick to judge. Quick to anger. Slow to understand. Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand-in-hand."
- Rush, "Witch Hunt"
Assuming you live in the United States, take a look at Carvin's bass amps.  The B2000 is exactly what you're looking for.

"Maybe this world is another planet's hell?" - Aldous Huxley
Quote by joey-only
Anyone have any recommendations on a bass amp for death metal? I've been using SWR for the last 6 years but obviously they don't exist anymore and I'm looking for an upgrade. My cab is a SWR Megoliath 8X10.

Carvin BX1600.
I'm using its predecessor, the BX1500 (it's black, rather than bright red).