As the title suggest... My Fender Mustang I v.2 doesn't seem adequate considering my beautiful and smart wife surprised me with above mentioned guitar for Fathers Day.

I'm a non-professional musician who primarily plays at home and the office to kill idle down time working the graveyard shift, sucks to be me right? I'm no Buddhist but life is suffering and I have suffered my share (I'll spare you the details). Ok, I'm rambling. My therapist called in sick on me this week.

Thanks for reading and one last thing, although I am not a gigging pro, I feel that an amp that could pull its weight if I were suddenly summed by Rancid, Social Distortion, Misfits, FIDLAR, etc to fill in as a backing guitarist the next time they come through town. Unfortunately, a half can is out as I live in a townhouse. Two speaker cab with a head - ok.

Peavey is cool, Marshall too. Mesa Boogie is way out of my price range (wife and 4 kids). Love the punk rock and metal sound.
1984 Yamaha SG1000X
2006 Epiphone Les Paul Black Beauty 3
2011 Fender Mustang IV
2011 Gretsch G5120 Electromatic
2014 Fender Mustang I (V.2)
2016 Gibson Custom Shop Standard Historic 1957 Les Paul Goldtop Reissue VOS
Budget? Lots out there..

One thing to consider is if you want your main gain tones from the amp with maybe a gain pedal or two for enhancing  the amp gain or are going for the ol' clean amp as a pedal platform type deal.
Also, a used Mesa might NOT be out of your price range, so, yeah- BUDGET?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Guitaraxe
Thanks for your input. I prefer to plug straight in to an amp with the gain(s) high at 7-10 with the typical crunch EQ settings (low & high frequencies set somewhere around 7-10, and mids set to 1-5.