Would you get More Clean Headroom With High Output Pickups, Low Output Pickups, or Does it Even Matter?

Poll: Which would have the best headroom?
Poll Options
View poll results: Which would have the best headroom?
Low Output Pickups/Volume Turned Down
8 57%
High Output Pickups/or With Boost
1 7%
Equal Headroom
5 36%
Voters: 14.
Page 1 of 2
I'm just curious about this, since I'm going to be Claptonizing my Strat, and I want to know if I would get more (good), less (ride the volume knob more), or weather it won't affect it at all.
Just a teenage girl who loves playing guitar way too much, if that's even possible.

I live for my girlfriend. <3
Headroom is more a function of your amp than your pickups, as I understand.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
head room is way more about the amp. all the pickups can do is give a stronger signal (or weaker) to the front end of the amp. while this may have a slight effect on when breakup (ie distortion) occurs headroom is more about the volume an amp can produce before it starts to distort. this is whjy higher wattage usually translate into higher headroom. 
Quote by monwobobbo
oh and by Claptonizing what exactly are you doing? 

Silent single coils (I'm using Zexcoils) and the Fender Active Mid Boost. Maybe later in the future a neck replacement, and definitely later Fender locking tuners.
Just a teenage girl who loves playing guitar way too much, if that's even possible.

Quote by gogiregion
Silent single coils (I'm using Zexcoils) and the Fender Active Mid Boost. Maybe later in the future a neck replacement, and definitely later Fender locking tuners.

ok that would be modern Clapton. just making sure. 
Quote by monwobobbo
ok that would be modern Clapton. just making sure.