so i've been playing for a few years and i'm finally taking the time to learn music theory and maybe write my own stuff. quick question, if im playing in the key of F Minor, does that mean the 1,4,5 are minors, and the 2,3,6s majors?
In F minor, the 1,4,5 are minor, in relation to the minor scale.
The 3,6,7 are major in relation to the minor scale.
The 2 is also minor, but with a flat 5.
Quote by Vreid
The 2 is also minor, but with a flat 5.

Doesn't that make it diminished?
Quote by NSpen1
Doesn't that make it diminished?

Yep, if you want. Also minor flatted fifth.
Quote by lolmon
so i've been playing for a few years and i'm finally taking the time to learn music theory and maybe write my own stuff. quick question, if im playing in the key of F Minor, does that mean the 1,4,5 are minors, and the 2,3,6s majors?

If you are playing a song, no; it depends on what the composer had in mind. If you are asking strictly about the harmonized scale, why not take 10 seconds of playing, listening, and hearing for yourself which are major and minor?

If you are going to be looking at theory, you are going to want to develop the habit of answering questions and verifying statements by grabbing your guitar and testing them to hear how they sound and see how they work. When you set to composing your own music you'll be glad you did.
Quote by reverb66
I'm pretty sure the Bible requires that you play through a tube amp in Texas.
Quote by lolmon
No, the ii is diminished.

F minor has the same chords - to start with - as its relative major Ab. So you just renumber all those chords starting from Fm = i:
Gdim (Gm7b5) = ii
Ab (Abmaj7) = III, or bIII
Bbm (Bbm7) = iv
Cm (Cm7) = v
Db (Dbmaj7) = VI or bVI
Eb (Eb7) = VII, or bVII