Hi everyone so I have been playing guitar for the last 6 years or so but hardly know any theory. It's what my teacher calls parrot fashioned, I play stuff but don't know what I am playing. He told me to learn every note on every string up to the 12 fret. I haven't done lessons in a while though. Like I see on youtube they say something like we start on a c major then end of a d major. I don't get what that means I get if they say they start on a c note and end on a d note. I know major and minor chords and 7th. I believe  when you do a barre chord and take off the middle finger it becomes minor. Anyways what should I do so I know more of what I am doing? Thanks.
The simplest thing you can do is learn about intervals, at least the most common ones.  Chords, scales, melodies are all made from these, and the most common ones take around 5-10 minutes to learn, which you can then see/hear in any major or minor triad, or seventh, minor seventh, major seventh chords.

E.g:  apart from on the G.B pair of strings, the major 3rd interval looks like this on any other pair of adacent strings in standard tuning:

e:  2
b:  3

Slide this simple diagonal shape anywhere along the string pair, and it will always make the sound of a major 3rd, the most important sound in a major chord.

Look at this chord (D major) ... spot the major 3rd?

e: 2
b: 3
g: 2

Or ... here's G major chord ... spot the major 3rd?

e: 3
b: 0
g: 0
d: 0
a: 2
e: 3

The major 3rd on string pair G,B is a simple vertical line (i.e. both pitches line up at the same fret), because of the guitar tuning.  Look back at the G chord above.  Spot the major 3rd on the G,B strings?

Minor 3rd:  just adhust the major 3rd shape, moving the upper pitch back one fret (one semitone).  So, on string pair G,B we get a diagonal, and all the other string pairs we a longer sloping diagonal covering 2 frets,