And I've hit a snag. Or so I think.

This is a 2012 PRS SE Singlecut, and the default pickups have two wires - a white one, and a ground wire. It has two humbuckers and a 3-way selector.

The new DiMarzio one is a Crunchlab, containing 5 wires. I've understood from a few threads as well as their own documentation that I can combine the black & white. Check. Combine the green & ground. Check. But, the sound is very thin, like it's running on one coil. I suppose this is where the red one comes in. No matter where I solder it (middle position, or attached to the black & white one), the sound doesn't improve, or only gets more tinny.

My question is... where the hell do I put the red one, or do I combine them in a different way for that humbucker sound?
Thread was moved to forum: Gear Building & Customizing
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
The red is hot and should be soldered to the switch or  a lug on the volume pot depending on how your guitar is wired.  The black and white should be soldered together and taped off to prevent them shorting to anything else.  The green and bare should be soldered together and then to the back of the volume pot.  If it sounds thin check the resistance with a multimeter by touching one probe to the red and the other to green.  It should read just over 11k.
Not taking any online orders.