Hi,

Ive been Practicing my vibrato everyday for a couple of months now. It's definitely improved but still has a way to go.
General the people with the good vibrato are a bit older and been playing for a long time.
Is vibrato something that improves naturally with years of playing?  
When you watch younger players they may be able to play complex stuff but there vibrato sucks.

Thanks
🍗🎹🎶🎼🎧🎤🎮👾🎸🎨🎷⚽️🎱🏁🎺🎻🍮🍰🍪📱👻🐔🐣🐥🐤🐽🐷💀👽💩💸🚽👻
Guitar137335

I consider vibrato the hardest technique to "master". It's very difficult and tedious to isolate and practice the technique so for that reason it often gets neglected. As you said yourself it does improve naturally over time. It is far too common to see incredibly technical / fast players with awful vibrato. I've seen it countless times and it's a real shame honestly. To me personally it's potentially the single most important technique. Nothing makes a lick / riff sound worse than poor / flat bending and vibrato, and i consider bending / vibrato to be complementary techniques. You don't have one without the other.
I would try to not worry about your bending/vibrato too much for now, but at the same time don't neglect it like many people do. It WILL improve over time if you're conscious about the technique and if you want to improve, so don't forget how important it is.
As you said yourself, the people with good vibrato generally are older for the very reason that it takes a long long time to "master". I don't think I've ever seen anyone under like 25-30 or so with incredible vibrato.
I'll add this short little video to give an example of what I consider to be as close to perfect vibrato etc as possible:

Such amazing demonstration of vibrato from both the wrist and the fingers. And yes he is in fact in his 30s
The Loner is also probably one of the single best songs to learn if you want to try and isolate and practice the technique.

Last edited by vayne92 at Jul 9, 2017,