Hello!

I've been playing guitar for about ten years as a hobby and am finally looking into getting a new amplifier that I can still be happy with 10-20 years down the road. I typically only play at home but was hoping to get some suggestions on what type of amp would deliver the best sound in my budget (300-600). I enjoy learning as much as I can from nearly every genre and would want an amp that is versatile with its sound. My guitar currently is a takamine gx-200 electric guitar and I know I know I would need to upgrade that in the near future as well. I had looked at the marshal code amp however my brother who has been playing for about 15 years suggested to stay away from amps with Built in effects.

What are some of the amps I should be looking at and should I focus on getting stand alone pedals rather than an amp which has them all?

Thank you!
Where in the world are you? 
Bass Gear:

Mensinger: Speesy
Fender Precision 1989 (CIJ Rosewood)
Fender Steve Harris (CIJ)
Lakland J Sonic 5
Epiphone Explorer
Maruszczyk (custom) Jake

Ashdown CTM 100
Cool guitar. I played one ages ago. I think it came stock with DiMarzio pups.

Not sure about the durability of the newer modern amps lasting 20 years but other than that, based on your wanting to move from genre to genre another , one option is to have an amp with a nice clean tone and use it as a pedal platform to dial in specifics. You might call it the David Gilmour approach. 
Guitaraxe
I did a little research on my guitar a few years ago and they seem pretty rare?

Any suggestions on a good, clean amp? I was hoping hoping to at least get an amp with a good distortion. I currently have the boss ds-1, flanger, and chorus pedal. I next pedal I would want to get would be a delay
Quote by kylegregory1028
Guitaraxe