I'm quite a novice on guitar even though I've been playing on and off for several years. I pick a song on spotify decide I want to learn in then 10 minutes later I'm on a different song. It took me a couple of years to get into my head that I don't need to get the strumming pattern to sound exactly like the song. Now I'm having a hard time getting my head around the same song being played with either different chords or a different chord in the progession.

For example Breakeven - The Script (Verse)

Em - G - D - A7 (here on ultimate guitar)  https://tabs.ultimate-guitar.com/t/the_script/breakeven_crd.htm

Em - G - D - Cadd9: youtube  ;

Surely even just a small chorde change like that changes the whole dynamic of a song? 
Am7, not A7. Also, you have the G and D chords in the wrong order. It should be Em-D-G-Am7. But I'm pretty sure that was just a typo.

Am7 and C major are really close to each other. Am7 = A C E G, C major = C E G. That's why you can substitute Am7 with C major and vice versa most of the time (well, it depends on the context). But the correct chord is Am7. I don't know why she decided to use C major in the video.

When it comes to chord tabs in general, you shouldn't trust on them 100% (even if they have a good rating). It's the same thing with lesson videos (especially if we are talking about this kind of "singer songwriter" type of lessons - that kind of musicians many times tend to simplify the songs), though I think they are usually a bit more reliable. You need to always use your ears, and if something just doesn't sound right, it most likely isn't. But changing an Am7 chord to C major is not a big deal and it's really not going to change the sound much.