There are two types for guitar: Chords or tab.
 All that's available for bass is tab. 
 A format with just the note names would be an improvement. It would help people learn the notes on the fingerboard, just as guitarists learn the chords from the names. And it would be more flexible to allow someone to choose their own location to play the notes. Even with chords, a guitarist still has to choose the chord with the pitch he wants.  Example: Bm7 from the second fret or the seventh? 
I'm learning both bass and guitar. Having a makes more sense for an unrefined dolt like myself. I do see that Chords will show. As a hobbyist, I'm not refined enough to run with chords. I'd like to be there, but now isn't the time.  

I use a 5-string bass, tuned BEADG, which compliments my guitars running Drop C, Drop B and 7-string B-standard tuning. Right now, I find it easier to adapt this way.
Guitar/Bass:
Schecter: Damien 6/Stilletto Extreme 5, Squier: Bullet HSS*, Washburn RX10*/WG-587, Agile Septor 727
*mods

Amps/FX
Peavey: Vypyr 30/Max 112 (200W), ISP: Decimator

Quote by dannyalcatraz
Understood- I waste money on amps*, too.

justinguitar.com is the answer
bar2271 Generally speaking I think the site might be erring on the side of being too restrictive. If you look at some of the older tabs there is little or no consistency. That can be confusing for newbies of course but if you'd have been around then you could have pretty much submitted what you wanted. For example if a bass pattern repeats continuously through a song I'd prefer just the pattern or more frequently patterns. I really don't want to wade through line after line of repeated bass through a whole song. I've also tabbed ou most of the songs I play that way but don't submit them any more because I'd have to redo the songs in an accepted format. Most of my tabs are 4-5* and I have literally hundreds of others to offer but it's pretty clear they aren't wanted.