Ok I wouldn't say I'm a beginner but I'm very far from a pro and I find myself lately becoming overwhelmed by where to go next with my learning . I started like most people by learning my open chords and basic techniques and then started mostly learning songs. But now I want to dig deep and reach that next difficult level and get really good. The problem is I don't where to start and I get overwhelmed. I go online and try to learn more advanced things like scales and theory but they just throw all these things at you that they expect you to already know, like the caged system, all 5 positions of the minor pentstonic, dominant 7ths, etc. Its so confusing and feels like too much to learn all at once. Isn't there a smoother progression as to where to start and advance? What should I do from here if I want to be more than just a guy who can play other people's songs? I want to be able improvise and solo in any key and be able to jam with other musicians without being lost. Where should I start and what should I be doing to slowly get there? I don't mind the hard work as long as I know it's building to something. I find I'm the kind of person who needs routine and set things to practice rather than just randomly sitting down and noodling with a new technique
Your probably already doing this, but my go-to answer is jam to some backing tracks. incredibly inspiring.
Flying in a blue dream
drb1982 Unfortunately, there is way too much emphasis placed on knowing your scale shapes and chord shapes, in all positions and shapes, as the path to imrpovisation and becoming a better player.  So, if someone hasn't really explored how to make use of the sounds available from one scale in one position, or from one chord in one position, then lumping a load more on top just confuses matters more.