Guys, 

Your expertise in this matter would be greatly appreciated. I am new to guitar and have given my self the task of working through the rock school grade 1 system.

I can play the attached piece but i'm struggling to understand the timings as I cant really understand time signatures. On the attached picture I have written on what I think is the correct timings of the song. 

Could you please have a look and offer your advice on this please. No doubt i'm completely wrong.

Many Thanks
Danny

Click below for Picture

it's in 4/4, so a quarter note = 1 beat and there are 4 beats. this basically just means there are 4 pulses, with the first pulse accented

do count and clap exercises. clap when a note is played and count aloud. in measure 5, you would count "1 and 2 and 3 and 4-ti-te-ta" and clap on 2 and 3, 4-ti-te
Quote by Kevätuhri
Hail isn't too edgy for posts, posts are not edgy enough for Hail.

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.
Hail many thanks for your reply, so going by what you have said, the timings i have written would be correct? could you have a look at bar 15 and 16 as this is still 4/4 time but there's only 3 beats and no rest?

Cheers 
Dan
I don't see how your problem has anything to do with time signatures. It has to do with understanding rhythmic values. You clearly understand that in 4/4 you count to four. But some of your subdivisions are off.

First of all, if you subdivide in 16ths, you should count "one-e-and-a, two-e-and-a", etc, not "one-and-a-e, two-and-a-e", etc. This is important because when you count 8th notes, you would count "one-and, two-and", etc. And since one 8th note takes the space of two 16th notes, you add the 16th subdivision between the beats and the off-beats (so one between the "one" and "and" and another between the "and" and "two"). So you get "one-e-and-a, two-e-and-a", etc. So this is your first mistake.