This feels like a dumb question and I don't know if this is the right forum for it but here goes.

I'm a decent guitarist who's been playing for about 10 years, mostly "jam band" style. I can "get by" in many different styles like blues, funk, and country but to me there is a big difference between playing a GREAT solo in a blues context, and playing a GREAT BLUES solo. In my beginning days I read many a book/article and watched many a video about blues guitar, learned 12 bar blues, other structures, pentatonics, blue notes, call and response, shuffles, all the stuff everyone knows makes blues blues. But I want to take my blues to the next level, I want my melodies to participate in the language and long history of this style. I can play really "bluesy" licks but they don't feel truly authentic. What I'm looking for is a resource, a book or video series or something, that will introduce me to some of these licks that have been passed down and altered through the years. I know the most legit way of doing this is by learning actual blues songs by ear but I don't feel like I'm yet immersed enough into the tradition to really know what songs are the most useful to learn. All help is super appreciated.
research the early blues pioneers..of ALL instruments..the jazz idiom has many blues influenced players in many styles on many instruments..including big bands..where some of the best solo artists emerged from..the list would be long and would not give you any more information that just their names..to really reach your objective you will have to spend considerable time in each players catalog and "listen" to how they interpret the style..

the jazz record label..Blue Note would be a very good place to begin with jazz players

Charlie Parker John Coltrane Thelonious Monk Kenny Burrell Jimmy Smith Michael Bloomfield

just a small list of my personal faves that have taken the "simple" 12-bar structure and turned it inside out..
play well

wolf