So I'm looking for an amp under 300-400$, that still sounds excellent. I'll take anything; Marshall, Peavey, Fender...
It would quite likely have to be a solid-state amp, because it's hard to get a good sounding valve/tube amp for that budget, especially when talking about Marshall or Fender. 
Does have to be new or can you look for used amps? What kind of sound are you going for? Metal, Rock, Blues?
For Solid States: the Boss Katana 100 checks a lot of boxes! A great sounding thing for a good price. 100 Watt for like $300 or something like that.
Hooper drives the boat chief...
Quilter 101 or Microblock 45.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
You can't expect to get something truly great for $400.

What genres are you most interested in? What are the most important features to you?
Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
I also have to do that. Cottaging this weekend
There is nothing "excellent" in that price range.  I think a used Fender  tube amp ( HRD, Blues Junior, Deluxe) is your best bet for that price, but not of much help unless you play cleaner styles of music.  
A used PV-Classic 30 might be of interest depending on needs. Some vintage around that price as well... Ampeg, Laney , Musicman .... Peavey VTM perhaps....lots out there...
Last edited by Guitaraxe at Jul 25, 2017,
Used Peavey Delta Blues 115 combos can be had for $400 on Reverb.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by BenjaminFeiring
T00DEEPBLUE  Almost anything

Then you have a massive list of options which may or may not actually be suitable for what you need. You need to be specific as to what exactly you want.