For anyone that does lead guitar solo covers for either rock bands or artists does the cover have to be exactly the same (e.g. guitar effects, notes on presice timing, no accidental open picking) or can you improvise your own skill to make it sound good. Ive been playing guitar for a year and I really wanna be a lead guitar player. But I don't want people to think that I'm ignorant cuz I don't know all the guitar techniques or im not listening to certain guitarists and doing covers of them. Any thoughts.
I have been playing in cover bands for 40 years. I don't play the solos on the songs as they are recorded note-to-note. Mostly because I personally find that boring as a player and also too time consuming for a bar band/cover band situation. I do try to play my solos in a style like the original so I like to stay true to the syle. The only time I ever played note-for-note solos like the record was when I was first learning to play leads. I had to follow the original because I didn't have enough experience to make up my own. Those experiences of learning the original leads let me see how chords fit into certain scales and patterns. It was very useful and did help me immensely. Now I just play my own leads on cover songs in a way that I think just fits the song.  Unless you are in a tribute band where everything is expected to be note-for-note perfect you can do your own leads. Just make sure the songs you pick to play live have solos that are not way above your abilities so you don't look like you avoided the original solo mostly because you are not able to play at that level right now.