I won't be doing it any time really soon, but I will likely be putting new humbuckers my one of my favorite guitars eventually. Does anyone have any resources or videos or something like that that are really good, fairly simple, and helpful for a nervous beginner? Also, never soldered before, any advice on the best cheap soldering kit? Any other tips or tricks would also be appreciated. Thanks
Thread was moved to forum: Gear Building & Customizing
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
I moved it to the proper forum. Lots of helpful, knowledgeable UGers in this forum with loads of experience doing exactly what you're asking about,

Which is as much help as I can offer. I'm not really a hands-on gear modder, unlike Cathbard, trashedlostfdup and others.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

ThirdArmBoxer, when I first started soldering ~11 years ago, I started off with a $15 RadioShack kit (Iron + solder) and watched a bunch of YouTube videos.  It was appropriate for the the simple PU and tone pot upgrades. I practiced soldering everything to anything until I got the feel for it.
take a picture before you unsolder any connections, put it back together the same way.  watch a youtube video on how to solder.  changing pickups is really simple, you should have no problems.
Soldering is easy, I use a 40w variable iron with an iron tip for electronics soldering. If you use pickups of different makes they could have different wire colour codes, and you could end up with the pickups out-of-phase. I always do a phase test on mixed pickups to get the wires the right way around. It is very easy if you have a multimeter.
Quote by Tony Done