Ultimately I want to be the guy a studio calls when they need someone to step in and lay down a few tracks. 

First, a little background: I don't have a band, I've been playing about 10 years now, mostly self taught, and can play many different styles for acoustic and electric.

Any advice on gear, preparation, making connections, would be appreciated. But one thing I have absolutely NO idea for, is how much $$ should I ask for my time? People always say "ask for what you think you're worth" but I'd appreciate a little insight as to if there's an industry average/standard, different amounts in different areas, what others ask for, etc. 

You don't have to disclose any personal financial info obviously, I just need a frame of reference.
Look up online session musicians. You can probably start with a site like Kompoz - join some sessions and see what is required.

I've been asked to do studio work after I've been to studios and have recorded and the engineers/producers saw me that I cut my parts usually in 2 takes and was providing quality work. So I got called back, this both for bass and guitar, in different bands.

Start offering services for free for a song and then ask for $. Standard rate locally at least is about $100-$150 per track with 2-3 corrections. Drummers are mostly who I use when I hire out, and they charge about that if you pay for the studio or some do it online via Paypal.

So you need quality gear. Not many guitars but something good and reliable. A few tube amps, again there are session specific things but an all rounder quality pro amp, like say Mesa Mark V or Marshall JCM2000 or one of the fridge sized Fenders.

You need to learn how to do guitar tuning, setup, string change on the spot, always carry backup guitar and backup strings.

I guess good guitars to start with are the classics - some kind of Fender Strat and a Les Paul, unless we're talking metal where maybe a Jackson Soloist would be in order or something like that.