Hey guys, so I recently bought myself an Ibanez RG421EX and I was thinking of tuning it to Drop C so I can play a wider variety of songs. The thing is I am a newbie and I want to know whether I can tune it down myself or due to string slack I should have it set-up by a guitar shop. As far as I know the sure thing is I should use heavier gauge strings, 11s most likely to compensate for the lack of tension. Any insight is highly appreciated.
Thanks in advance
Last edited by LiverG at Jul 30, 2017,
Honestly, I'd learn how to do the setup yourself. The tools aren't that expensive. It's better to be able to setup a guitar yourself because you can run it with your preferences and don't have to wait for a luthier to do it for you. Some folks recommend having someone do it for you initially, and it could cost you up to $50 US, depending on factors. You will change strings, you probably will want to experiment, so why not learn? 

Secondly, strings are subjective, so don't think you need to use 11-gauge sets. I'm personally fine with 10-46, maybe 11-49 for Drop C, but I did experiment. I know people with Floyd Rose bridges like to use heavier gauges, like 11-56, but again, experimenting is kinda required.
Guitar/Bass:
Schecter: Damien 6/Stilletto Extreme 5, Squier: Bullet HSS*, Washburn RX10*/WG-587, Agile Septor 727
*mods

Amps/FX
Peavey: Vypyr 30/Max 112 (200W), ISP: Decimator

Quote by dannyalcatraz
Understood- I waste money on amps*, too.

justinguitar.com is the answer
bjgrifter I see, I was thinking the same to be honest. So, what are the chances of me screwing it up badly? I guess I can always have an expert bring her back to life if things go very south, right?