Today i was playing around with backing tracks and i was using an F minor backing track... i started playing a C minor scale over it and it sounded well... kinda joyful. what mode am i using there?
This is the Backing Track:
Occams Razor says you were simply playing F minor with a sharp 6th, although depending on how much you used D it may well just have been F minor for all intents and purposes.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
adan.ostos1 
              1   2  3    4   5   6   7
C minor:  C, D, Eb, F, G, Ab, Bb 

1   2  3    4    5   6    7
F minor:  F, G, Ab, Bb, C, Db, Eb

1   2  3    4    5   #6  7                     1   2  3    4   5   6   7
F minor with #6:  F, G, Ab, Bb, C, D,  Eb  =  C minor: C, D, Eb, F, G, Ab, Bb 

F minor instead of C minor for all intents and purposes because if you were rarely playing the D note then you were rarely doing anything with C minor.
adan.ostos1
steven seagull meant the note D.

F minor is F G Ab Bb C Db Eb
C minor is C D Eb F G Ab Bb

The only difference is that C minor has a D instead of a Db.
F minor with a sharp or major 6th is F G Ab Bb C D Eb = F Dorian, but you usually get told off around here if you say you're using a mode, so you might get away with saying you're playing an F Dorian scale instead.
It might help to view it like this as well:

1 2  3    4   5  6   7
F natural minor:                        F G Ab Bb C Db Eb

4 5  6   7    1 2    3
C minor (starting on 4th note): F G Ab Bb C D   Eb