Hi guys,
I've browsed Ultimate Guitar for a good couple years now, just now sorta decided to join as I'm in a bit of a pickle. I started playing guitar just over a year ago, got myself a beginner's set at Guitar Center with a Fender Stratocaster HSS and this little 15W Amp. I don't have that high of expectations, especially because I'm a beginner lol, but I figured after a year I'd like to try getting something better. I had been looking at getting a new amp first, and so I decided to get a Marshall MG30CFX. I'm not a performer or anything, I was just looking for a nicer practice Amp. Dumb me made quite the mistake on that one, although to be fair all the reviews you see on Google or YouTube are glowing with positivity, exact opposite of what I found on here after I actually got the amp. Well, now I have the amp and the general opinion I've found on here about Marshall MG's is correct, it's pretty bad. I'll likely try to return the amp, but I'd really appreciate some advice from people with experience like you guys on what I should actually get instead. I'd prefer to not screw myself over again and repeat my mistakes lol. I'd really like to get something that can get me towards an 80s Thrash Metal sorta tone. I know there are a lot of experienced guys on here, so I was hoping some of you may have recommendations on Amps at around $200 that are actually of quality and can get me closer to that sound? I'm already losing money having to return the Amp, I'd just really like to get some quick help and advice so I don't repeat my mistakes. Thanks, any help is really appreciated.
Peavey Vypr
Jumping on dat gear sig train.
PRS Hollowbody II / BKP Warpigs
Strandberg OS6T / BKP Aftermath
Strandberg OS7 / Lace Poopsticks
Skervesen Raptor 7FF / BKP Warpigs
Skervesen Raptor 6 NTB / BKP Juggernauts
Hapas Sludge 7 FF / Hapas Leviathan
Anderson Baritom / Motorcity Nuke BKP Sinner Anderson H2+
Warmoth Baritone / BKP Piledriver
Ibanez Rg2120x / BKP Nailbomb

Blackstar ID:Core Beam