Warning: long post up ahead, so here's a short summary: Played around with a Boss ME-70 to see if I could get a useable metal tone, sample is at the link below:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/x1ai4hmfjkev0oz/boss%20metal%20test.mp3?dl=1

Share your opinions.

Long version:

Multi effects units are a major source of taboo when it comes to dialing in good overdrive and distortion sounds. We've all heard it; they sound digital, processed, harsh, tinny, not convincing.

This kind of talk basically scared the shit out of me when I was a wee beginner at the age of 16. My dad had just bought me a Digitech RP-350 and of course I immediately wanted to get the most BROOTALZ TONE ever, scooped ALL THE MIDS out and got that Kill Em All tone that I'd been chasing.

...Until the first time I played with a band and my tone disappeared out of sight the moment the whole band started playing loud. From the moment that a more experienced player pointed out that all those multi-effects distortions are crap and no one in their right mind should use them to get a heavy tone, instead just use the amp's built-in distortion.

I didn't have an amp, though, but that wasn't a problem since most practice spaces and venues had amps that I could use, so I pretty much utilized amp distortions for my dirty tone, until I bought an MXR '78 badass distortion pedal which had a really cool tone for my particular taste, and I had gotten some really serious compliments about my tone as well.

However, I could never shake the feeling that maybe it wasn't the multi-effects unit's fault at all, just that I didn't spend enough time tweaking it and trying to make it useable, and caring too much about the opinion of other, more experienced people (who, perhaps, also didn't invest enough time in learning a multi-effects unit in order to make it sound good).