I'm really excited about the release of the Epiphone RD but not willing to shell out $799 for it new, nor do I want to wait months trolling the used market for a good deal (though I'll probably catch myself looking around every corner and in every pawn shop I can find - but I digress). I'm waiting to modify my Epi Les Paul with the same basic setup as the RD. Does anyone know about active pickups enough to suggest or speak against them? I'm considering more of a Gibson based conversion (using active humbuckers) rather than the Epi version. Still thinkinxce though. Thought?
I don't know that one. Got a link?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Are you talking about the Lee Malia Artisan RD?

If you are, then how are active pickups relevant to the discussion? The Artisan RD's pickups are passive.
Roses are red
Violets are blue
Omae wa mou
Shindeiru

Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Yes the excitement has built for me in relation to the Artisan RD, but my original love is with the Gibson RD's from the '70's and 80's...many of those were installed with active pickups and that's what I'm considering. My apology if this was not conveyed effectively with the "Gibson based conversion (using active humbuckers) rather than the Epi version" statement.
Well if youre really interested in what Lee Malia actually uses in his guitar then the Gibson setup wouldnt be correct considering he never used one AFAIK.
Quote by zgr0826
My culture is worthless and absolutely inferior to the almighty Leaf.

Quote by JustRooster
I incurred the wrath of the Association of White Knights. Specifically the Parent's Basement branch of service.