Will a higher recording quality provide better results or is CD quality more than enough?

I listen to MP3s or FLACs on my cell phone most of the time.  I also will occasionally listen to music online.  
I hardly play CDs anymore.  
Hell yes.

1 - Why would you accept a lower quality recording?
2 - A huge amount of people prefer to buy CDs.

Remember that while the market in some countries is greater for downloads that CDs, in others it is the other way around.  Couple that with the ongoing rebirth of vinyl (which many consider to have the highest quality of all formats) and you have no choice but to aim at the highest quality possible.

Why would the evolution of technology result in a reduction in quality?  That would be a backwards step.

Also, I think the OP in itself is flawed.  MP3s are very low quality compared to CD, whereas I believe FLAC is pretty much the same as & possibly better than CD (I'm not an expert here though).  If you use FLAC, CD quality is the minimum requirement.  

If you only want to record an MP3 for your own use, then a lower quality is acceptable but certainly shouldn't be the target.  Any product intended to be marketed should be the highest possible quality.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
EVH 5150 III LBXII
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud