I'm new to music theory, I'm currently learning the pentatonic scale and so far I know two patterns, the E and the D patterns. I also learned the extensions of these patterns and can play them all over the fret-board. My question is, do the other three patterns have extensions because I don't see anything about extensions for the other three patterns?
Last edited by garrett.abbott112897 at Oct 11, 2017,
One way to think of it is that it's one big pattern that covers the whole finger board. But, that is too much for most people, so they call the fingering at the typical positions the "patterns". Now, depending on where you adopt your positions and how many frets you span and how much overlap you have between positions, there may be five, or seven, or even twelve positions. These adjacent position patterns may share individual notes between them on each string (connecting them), or they may share more than one note on each string (an overlap).
With the typical five positions, you should see that the extensions are really overlapping parts of patterns that don't overlap without the extensions.

So the answer is yes; all patterns have potential extensions on all strings in both directions... some are easier and more popular.
Quote by reverb66
I'm pretty sure the Bible requires that you play through a tube amp in Texas.
The pentatonic scale only has five different notes in it (for example Am pentatonic: A C D E G) that repeat over and over again in different positions and different octaves.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
garrett.abbott112897 Don't confuse scales, and patterns.  A scale is a formula for picking out certain pitches at various distances (semitones) from wherever you choose to start the scale at.