colen
ug's #1 CANADIAN
Join date: Dec 2004
421 IQ
#1
ok i want to hook my guitar up to my computer and record me playing guitar soo do i hook my guitar into the amp cord then into the adaptor i bought > then into the microphone jack in my computer or in a difrent hole?


and what program is free that i can download that lets me record my playing?
Co-Founder of the I Am Canadian Club, pm me or Mantiscabinet to join

My gear:

Gibson les paul studio
line 6 spider 112
washburn X12 with zakk wylde emgs
2004 pearl protone drum set
danilo19
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2004
624 IQ
#2
sometimes just plugging it starit in doesnt work you can either use a mic or power it by goin through apedal or sumthin and as for programs.......Audacity is really good. and you can put it into the microphone jack or the Blue one next to it if your wholes are all color coordinated
Voldragon
Hello
Join date: Jun 2004
303 IQ
#3
A free recording program is audacity, just type it in google and it should come up, its pretty simple to use
colen
ug's #1 CANADIAN
Join date: Dec 2004
421 IQ
#4
^^ im haveing trouble downloading it..... it keeps sayifn cant find server


LAME MP3 encoder - Allows Audacity to export MP3 files.

VST Enabler - Allows Audacity to load VST plug-ins.

Plug-Ins -Download additional effects and filters.


which one should i get?
Co-Founder of the I Am Canadian Club, pm me or Mantiscabinet to join

My gear:

Gibson les paul studio
line 6 spider 112
washburn X12 with zakk wylde emgs
2004 pearl protone drum set
CvPrEpKiLLaH
Hg-80 Alu-Beam
Join date: Oct 2003
321 IQ
#5
get a different mirror. get a midi cable, better, and easier to manage once recorded
'57 Reissue Gibson Les Paul Custom, Jackson Soloist SL2H
Marshall MF350
Cry Baby, Carbon Copy, Phase 90

Quote by strat0blaster
I remember this one time - Jesus played Eruption on a lute with strings made from the hair of 23 virgins.

It was pretty hardcore.
colen
ug's #1 CANADIAN
Join date: Dec 2004
421 IQ
#6
^^^ what do you mean a difrent mirror?
Co-Founder of the I Am Canadian Club, pm me or Mantiscabinet to join

My gear:

Gibson les paul studio
line 6 spider 112
washburn X12 with zakk wylde emgs
2004 pearl protone drum set
les_kris
Fight The Dog
Join date: Jan 2003
346 IQ
#7
Get a riff tracker, I swear by the heavily diminishing good name of enland its worth it
Quote by metal_fretter
ok so iv started been shredding for a while now. and i was reading other threads and i was wondering, is shredding just playing random notes all over the fret board wherever i want. or am i supposed to shred in some kind of scale??
colen
ug's #1 CANADIAN
Join date: Dec 2004
421 IQ
#8
hmm... is a riff tracker a program or sumthin?
Co-Founder of the I Am Canadian Club, pm me or Mantiscabinet to join

My gear:

Gibson les paul studio
line 6 spider 112
washburn X12 with zakk wylde emgs
2004 pearl protone drum set
colen
ug's #1 CANADIAN
Join date: Dec 2004
421 IQ
#9
can anyone help?
Co-Founder of the I Am Canadian Club, pm me or Mantiscabinet to join

My gear:

Gibson les paul studio
line 6 spider 112
washburn X12 with zakk wylde emgs
2004 pearl protone drum set
Master Of Shred
Banned
Join date: Oct 2004
470 IQ
#10
You should plug your guitar into your amp, then a cable from your amps line out ( or direct out ) to your comp. line in, that's one of the 3 holes around the hole where your speakers are in, in my case it is the middle one. Try.....

And download 'Cool Edit Pro' from kazaa, cool program
colen
ug's #1 CANADIAN
Join date: Dec 2004
421 IQ
#11
ok soo i finally got the adaptor for my guitar cable so this is what i did


guitar----->amp------->cable from line out to back of cumputer


i downloaded audicity and i can not figure out how i record my self.

can someone help me ?

i cant even get sound on my computer


edit: where do i plus the line out from my amp into?
Co-Founder of the I Am Canadian Club, pm me or Mantiscabinet to join

My gear:

Gibson les paul studio
line 6 spider 112
washburn X12 with zakk wylde emgs
2004 pearl protone drum set
Last edited by colen at Aug 15, 2005,
colen
ug's #1 CANADIAN
Join date: Dec 2004
421 IQ
#12
ok i figured how to record but when i do it sound really fuzzy, like i will record and in teh backround it seems really rerally fuzy......

how can i prevent this?
Co-Founder of the I Am Canadian Club, pm me or Mantiscabinet to join

My gear:

Gibson les paul studio
line 6 spider 112
washburn X12 with zakk wylde emgs
2004 pearl protone drum set
colen
ug's #1 CANADIAN
Join date: Dec 2004
421 IQ
#14
^^ can i download it or do i have to go buy it?
Co-Founder of the I Am Canadian Club, pm me or Mantiscabinet to join

My gear:

Gibson les paul studio
line 6 spider 112
washburn X12 with zakk wylde emgs
2004 pearl protone drum set
jeenyus_09
B!tch Rat
Join date: Jun 2004
98 IQ
#16
GarageBand is only for Apple comps if i am correct, and im guessing that you dont have one of them. That is a really great program, however i use the free Audacity program. if you're going from your amps line out into the microphone jack on your comp, you can't use distortion, i found that out the hard way as well. so either buy a cheap microphone or buy a program that has amp modeling so you can distort your playing by editing it once recorded. hope i helped
cheers
www.jeenyus09.dmusic.com
colen
ug's #1 CANADIAN
Join date: Dec 2004
421 IQ
#17
i can get distorion on audacity, but i just cant get a clear tone, its fuzzy all the time in the backround, so i wanna know if there is any other free prgrams that are fairly good?
Co-Founder of the I Am Canadian Club, pm me or Mantiscabinet to join

My gear:

Gibson les paul studio
line 6 spider 112
washburn X12 with zakk wylde emgs
2004 pearl protone drum set
FacingUsAll
I was spinnin' free...
Join date: Jun 2005
820 IQ
#18
Buy a guitarport. $99 bucks with a whole lot of amp modeling (I'm not too sure about the quality of the amp modeling, I'm no tone ***** ).

Guitar -> Guitarport -> Computer

It's that easy
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89
^I'd let a pro look at it. Once you get into the technicalities of screws...well, it's just a place you don't want to be, friend.
colen
ug's #1 CANADIAN
Join date: Dec 2004
421 IQ
#19
i would do that but i only got $17.95 so im kinda screwed till my next check

but what im lookin for maby with audicity is there any settingsto make some of the static and fuzz go away?
Co-Founder of the I Am Canadian Club, pm me or Mantiscabinet to join

My gear:

Gibson les paul studio
line 6 spider 112
washburn X12 with zakk wylde emgs
2004 pearl protone drum set
FacingUsAll
I was spinnin' free...
Join date: Jun 2005
820 IQ
#20
First, you highlight a few seconds of your track where you aren't doing anything.

Go to "Effects" -> "Noise Removal" and hit "Get Noise Profile" - then select the whole track and go back to the Noise Remover. Slide the slider ALL THE WAY LEFT (trust me) and hit "Remove Noise" and BAM! static and fuzz go away.
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89
^I'd let a pro look at it. Once you get into the technicalities of screws...well, it's just a place you don't want to be, friend.
colen
ug's #1 CANADIAN
Join date: Dec 2004
421 IQ
#21
^^^FacingUsAll you are amazing!

now it sounds like a wah pedal or some organ or sumthin

that didnt work to good
Co-Founder of the I Am Canadian Club, pm me or Mantiscabinet to join

My gear:

Gibson les paul studio
line 6 spider 112
washburn X12 with zakk wylde emgs
2004 pearl protone drum set
Last edited by colen at Aug 16, 2005,
MrChestnut118
Registered User
Join date: Jun 2009
13 IQ
#22
guys i got a good program called waves guitar solo 3.5 it's brilliant + free for a year
Haz4510
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2009
210 IQ
#23
What I do is just simply mic the amp I used a singstar mic and it's good quality
I can also use my digitech fx via USB
I recommend just simply recording through a mic then using audacity
micren
Registered User
Join date: Apr 2012
10 IQ
#24
I just got an Apogee Jam (http://www.apogeedigital.com/products/jam.php) - works amazingly well with GarageBand on both an iPad and a Mac. I imagine it would work with Audacity on the PC side. I believe the cable that comes with Rocksmith works as a USB audio input as well.